Mini Moodle Magic – Importing

Teachers can potentially save a lot of time by importing content from one course to another …Whilst Teachers cannot usually Backup and Restore Courses on a Moodle site, they do still (usually) have the ability to Import from one Course to another – and yet so few Teachers seem to know about it !

It’s very simple … using the Administration Block, a Teacher can click Import, search for any other Course they are also a Teacher in, and then go through a simple step-by step process to select which Resources or Activities they want to copy into the active Course.  So simple, and such a time-saver 🙂

 

Stuart Mealor

Managing Director at HRDNZ
Stuart is interested in all things e-learning, with specific interests in Moodle, e-learning strategy, and business development.His experience in education over 30 years, MBA in International Business, and knowledge of e-learning systems implementation, together with graphic design background, give him a unique skill set for e-learning projects.

Latest posts by Stuart Mealor (see all)

Stuart Mealor

Stuart is interested in all things e-learning, with specific interests in Moodle, e-learning strategy, and business development. His experience in education over 30 years, MBA in International Business, and knowledge of e-learning systems implementation, together with graphic design background, give him a unique skill set for e-learning projects.

stuartrmealor has 183 posts and counting.See all posts by stuartrmealor

2 thoughts on “Mini Moodle Magic – Importing

  • 15th September 2017 at 7:39 am
    Permalink

    Stuart, Another option is to create a custom role for this exact purpose. I created a role where the user was locked down to only view the course but could not change anything or see student information/grades. Less permissions than non-editing teacher. However, when performing an import the user could use import to take all the content from the course. It’s much safer than making another user a teacher with the potential to accidentally delete or view stuff they shouldn’t. You can download the XML file for this user role here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwVGFeDJiDchSFhRLUVGbWZ5Xzg/view?usp=sharing For our users, they add the teacher with this new “Collaboration” role. Once that is done it shows up as a normal course when using Import. The user cannot change anything in the other course but they can make a copy using Import.

    Reply
    • 15th September 2017 at 8:21 am
      Permalink

      That’s a really good solution too Christopher – and thanks for sharing the role definition ! Awesome 🙂

Add a reply